The winner of the 2016 Sybil Amor Trophy is Simon Evans, seen here receiving the ruby brandy Balloon from last year’s winner, Annie Cooper.Simon and Annie with trophy

Simon’s Entry was ‘I Love You Darling, Honestly’.  Runner up was Lucy Barratt for her story entitled ‘Elva’ while special mention was made of Lorna Jordan-Kay’s piece ‘Inamorata’ as being, in the opinion of the judges, the most contentious.

The award for the best  nom de plume went to Brenda Williams who went under the guise of Orsen Carte.

Our thanks are due to the judges, Becky Edgington, Kevin Owen and Peter Barker.

Speaking of his success, Simon said “As a member of DWG I have met many excellent writers and read their work. I feel especially honoured to have won this prize in the face of strong competition. I look forward to setting the text for the next prize”.